Small Medium Large Adjust font size
Consumer Disputes
Justice Court
Tobacco Unit
Chinese Drywall Information

Sign up for News Releases and Consumer Alerts
Translate Site To:
Know More

Most downloadable content on this site is in PDF format. Please use this button to get the most recent version of the Adobe PDF reader.

LaTrac Contracts Search

Divisions Overview

The Louisiana Department of Justice is divided into the following divisions:
  • Administrative Services
  • Civil
  • Criminal
  • Executive
  • Investigation
  • Gaming
  • Public Protection
  • Litigation
Administrative Services
Coordinates the department’s budget, legislative affairs and department planning and performance.

Provides legal representation to the state, its departments and agencies, boards and commissions, and statewide elected officials.

Assists federal, state and local agencies in the investigation and prosecution of a wide range of criminal matters.

Oversees all department operations. Houses the Appellate Section and the Public Information Office.

Serves as legal advisor and legal representative to all Louisiana gaming regulatory agencies.

Provides follow-up investigation services for Criminal Division; responds to requests for investigative assistance from any government agency; and provides investigative services in white collar crime and public corruption.

Public Protection
Provides legal services in the areas of consumer protection and environmental law, insurance receivership and fair housing.

Represents the Office of Risk Management, the Self-Insurance Fund and the State in all claims covered by the State Self-Insurance Fund, and in all tort claims whether or not covered by the Self-Insurance Fund.


Copyright ©2007-2016 Office of the Louisiana Attorney General. All rights reserved.